No space for wild girls

I never stop being amazed.

When I was young, and wanted to run and run until I finally found a place in the world I felt alive, dip my hair in feral mermaid greens, creep into empty practice rooms and talk to the piano all day long, or just wake in time to watch the dawn shift into that singular, magical violet, the world made sure I was buried alive; pushed down to explore fierce underworlds illuminated only by rock quartz and fireflies. Spittle on the bus and fractured fingers, and later, blister packs full of soothing syllables to keep the lid on a boiling girl. These were the days of dial-up AOL taking wobbling steps toward the future; of plastic barbed wire bracelets and grimacing around smeared cherry lip gloss and wondering how to be like them. Girls. Girls My Age. The ones who could talk together without creating awkward silences around them; they went to town in groups and got good science grades despite laughing through class and the boys liked them. They didn’t embarrass their families by getting caught naked in the open-air community swimming pool after breaking in to feel the marbling waters against their limbs in ripples of living silk. They didn’t sleep in their clothes. Or see ghosts.

I know, things were different for me even beyond the realms of alternative then. Lying on scratchy hospital linen, I wondered how I’d got there. I knew girls in baggy grunge shirts and thick kohl eyeliner, who streaked their hair pillarbox red and wore their outcast status like medals. They were spat on too, sometimes, but they were never in the bed next to mine. Perhaps they hid their Otherness better, or kept their scars from stumbling through womanhood’s bramble patch a secret underneath their long sleeves. I never hurt myself like that, by descending ladders of shiny white tissue; but I saw the world in wild paint and heard music in empty rooms, and spent too many hours in an obscure and mystical world of my own. I tasted the fresh trails of other lives and infinite possibility on the air the same way you know the season is changing; when the sweet breath of spring exhales itself into the world, or a frost yet to fall on orange leaves flicks out an icy tail in premonition. I worshiped the world too strongly, saw it without veils.

Back then, you didn’t talk about it. You took your pills and were mute as a novice under new, silent vows. It would upset your family, damage your chances, if anyone knew you weren’t a real girl. You took step after blind step through the thicket, heart and eyes held out in your hands for wicked queens to eat. There was no space for wild girls. When your ears pricked up, you flattened them down before anyone could see and shout wolf. When a rogue feather sprung out through a papercut, you apologised, smoothed it back down with handfuls of spilled oil, and brushed the fledgling stars firmly out of your hair.

IMG_2959

Now I see them in colourful crowds or unapologetically alone. On the bus, online; packs of wild girls, with watercolour hair and winged dreams. The world blinked while I was away, busy being an aura floating in drugged isolation; it had code pumped straight into its veins that changed its digital DNA forever. In just five, seven, ten years; the lungs of the globe expanded and suddenly all those girls like me could breathe easier too. I see them striding purposefully through the tube station, across the road, with sleek fur and smiling lips, hips that demand sacred space to swivel, teeth out and dipped in ink, and know they are bolder than I could ever be. Whether they live with or without a diagnosis, minds clear or clouded, they live.

8d2da15c-f399-4cae-a6ad-9a7388f29dbd_zpsa655ad09

It feels too late for me.

I know – it sounds so defeated, so self-pitying – but I have years of this enforced solitude and doctor’s orders like bleached cotton bandages wrapped around my head, and don’t know if my skin could take this new sun after all. I feel too old to join the pack. I’m just a handful of years ahead of this tidal wave of new women tumbling sand and sea glass into something more refined, but what a difference those years have made. Or perhaps it’s the toffee time effect of all those waiting rooms blurring into one another; perhaps I’ve sat behind so much shatter-proof glass it’s simply grown around me.

Now there is space for wild girls. They tap destinations into online journey planners with foxes’ claws. When they get papercuts and a hawk’s feather springs out, they laugh, and test its strength against the wind. I hope you soar as high and far as you wish, now that the sky is open.

17 thoughts on “No space for wild girls

  1. Sky Bray

    Oh wow – this took me by surprise today as I glanced through my email before getting to work. Just… beautiful. Brought to tears. Thanks for writing, sharing.

    Like

  2. Pingback: No space for wild girls | ugiridharaprasad

  3. williamleeone

    Though I probably developed more questions than received answers to questions I did not realize were asked, I have never experienced a bit of writing more poignantly nor powerfully written than this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  4. kendunning

    Your article made me feel like I need to leave a response. It is beautiful, poignant, expressive. And I hope you take the step of venturing into the new world of wild girls. There is so much comfort, confirmation and strength to be found in community!

    Like

    1. Un Coeur De Jade

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment 🙂 It’s odd to feel as though you slip through the cracks even in a stranger, bolder universe, but we shall see x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. katmphotography

    this is my favourite piece (that i’ve read so far, Lovely) – it evokes a certain melancholy and sense of yearning for something intangible and yet something close that i cannot quite grasp. does that make sense? i read it twice. haunted by the first read, i re-read it. the imagery is powerful. an unforgettable piece. beautiful writing.

    i look forward to reading more from you. beautiful. so very beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

