From Grace

Last night I dreamed I sprouted golden dragonfly wings,  I often fly in my dreams but it’s usually a strange, half-swimming through the silky lightness of the air; I jump once, twice, three times and bob upwards in floating fits and starts like a balloon whose string has been let go by a distracted child. This was different. As the wings unfurled I was launched into the sky as though fired from a gun. I soared above a familiar field, dotted with the pale freckles of dawn mushrooms. I realised the clouds could part like silver hair being brushed away from the planet’s face and I could go anywhere, trailing glittering dust and liquid light like a meteor.

Then I fell back to earth, wings torn on tree branches and stray farm wire, dismayed at my own limitations. I woke up sighing.

IMG_2804

Leave a Reply

